Coaching Association of Canada

Jack Donohue Award

The Jack Donohue “Coach of the Year” Award recognizes the outstanding contributions of a Canadian Coach who exemplifies the great qualities of the legendary Jack Donohue. These qualities include: honesty, integrity, a positive attitude, competitiveness, and a love of sport. Jack taught his athletes to value life, its experiences, and the passion of playing for your country.

As a founder of the Canadian Association of National Coaches, Jack Donohue was dedicated to the profession of coaching and demonstrated care and concern for his colleagues. As the professional coaching department of the Coaching Association of Canada (CAC), Coaches of Canada presents the Jack Donohue Award annually at the Petro-Canada Sport Leadership Awards Gala. 

The nomination period is now CLOSED

2019 Award Recipient

Sylvain Bruneau, ChPC, Tennis

Sylvain Bruneau, ChPC

In a career spanning more than 35 years, Sylvain has become an essential part of the national training program for female tennis players in Canada. With a coaching style described as calm, tactical, and passionate, Sylvain fosters constructive dialogue with his players and inspires them to reach their highest potential.

His coaching acumen as a master strategist and motivator earned him global renown as he guided Thornhill, Ontario’s Bianca Andreescu to her first tennis Grand Slam championship at the 2019 U.S. Open in September – the first-ever Grand Slam win for athlete from Canada. By establishing a precise definition of her objectives, a solid technical and tactical plan, and a positive frame of mind, Bruneau developed in Andreescu the resilience and fearlessness she needed to face down the best woman to ever play the game – and win.

For Sylvain, coaching takes place on and off the court. He is an excellent mentor and focuses on the long-term development of his athletes to help them grow as competitors and ambassadors outside of the sport. Sylvain is recognized as a Chartered Professional Coach® who lives with a strong sense of fair play and who instills that value in all of his players. In practice and in competition, he consistently emphasizes the importance of respect for the opponent and for the spirit of the game.


  • Winners of the Jack Donohue Award

    2018 Award Recipient

    Rob Kober, ChPC

    2017 Award Recipient

    John Herdman, ChPC

    2016 Award Recipient

    Mark Smith, ChPC

    2015 Award Recipient

    Lisa Thomaidis, ChPC

    2014 Award Recipient

    Gerry Dragomir, ChPC

    2013 Award Recipient

    Joan McDonald, ChPC

    2012 Award Recipient

    David Ross, ChPC

    2011 Award Recipient

    Marcel Lacroix, ChPC

    2010 Award Recipient

    Melody Davidson, ChPC
    2009 Award Recipient

    Steve Bush, ChPC
    2008 Award Recipient  

    Tim Frick, ChPC

    2007 Award Recipient  

    Paul Kristofic, ChPC

    2006 Award Recipient  

    Xiuli Wang, ChPC

    2005 Award Recipient  

    Patrick Oaten, ChPC

    2004 Award Recipient  

    Kelly Manjak, ChPC

    2003 Award Recipient  

    Michel Larouche, ChPC