Coaching Association of Canada

Geoff Gowan Award

Recognizing lifetime contribution to coaching development

The Geoff Gowan "Lifetime Achievement" Award recognizes a lifetime commitment to coaching and coaching development and is presented to an individual who has fostered a positive public image of coaching, enhanced the role of the coach within the Canadian public, and who is a role model for future generations of coaches.

The Geoff Gowan Award was created in 1996 to honour former Coaching Association of Canada (CAC) president Geoffrey Gowan, CM, PhD. The Geoff Gowan Award trophy is housed at Canada’s Sports Hall of Fame in Calgary, AB, where the recipient will be featured for the year.

Nominations are now closed! 

The Coaching Association of Canada is committed to promoting the values of diversity and inclusion within its National awards program in order to recognize the tremendous contribution that all organizations, coach developers, and coaches make to the Canadian Sport System.

Winners of the Geoff Gowan Award

The CAC is pleased to honour these outstanding coaches who have made significant contributions to coaching and coaching development over the years. These coaches are role models for future generations of coaches and the CAC is pleased to recognize them.

2017 Award Recipient

Dany Boulanger

2016 Award Recipient

Glenn Hoag

2015 Award Recipient

Dr. John Hogg

2014 Award Recipient

Robert (Bob) Kierstead

2013 Award Recipient

Dennis Marineau
Hiroshi Nakamura

2012 Award Recipient


Victor Zilberman
David Hart

Hounorable Mentions

Manon Perron
Hiroshi Nakamura
Dennis Marineau

2011 Award Recipient

Allison McNeill
Eric Broom Ph. D.

2010 Award Recipient 

Dr. Dru Marshall: Field hockey
Lyle Sanderson: Athletics

2009 Award Recipient 

Tim Frick: Wheelchair basketball
Keith Russell: Gymnastics

2008 Award Recipient 

Douglas Leigh: Figure skating

2007 Award Recipient 

Andy Higgins: Decathlon

2006 Award Recipient 

Clare Drake: Hockey

2005 Award Recipient 

Charles Cardinal: Volleyball

2004 Award Recipient 

Donald Dion: Diving

2003 Award Recipient 

Marilyn Savage: Gymnastics

2002 Award Recipient 

Al Morrow: Rowing

2000 Award Recipient 

Doug Clement: Athletics

1999 Award Recipient 

Jack Donohue: Basketball

1996 Récipiendaire du prix 1996

Geoff Gowan: Athletics