Coaching Association of Canada

Geoff Gowan Award

Recognizing lifetime contribution to coaching development

The Geoff Gowan "Lifetime Achievement" Award recognizes a lifetime commitment to coaching and coaching development and is presented to an individual who has fostered a positive public image of coaching, enhanced the role of the coach within the Canadian public, and who is a role model for future generations of coaches.

The Geoff Gowan Award was created in 1996 to honour former Coaching Association of Canada (CAC) president Geoffrey Gowan, CM, PhD. The Geoff Gowan Award trophy is housed at Canada’s Sports Hall of Fame in Calgary, AB, where the recipient will be featured for the year.

The nomination period is now CLOSED

2018 Award Recipient

Manon Perron, ChPC, Figure Skating

Official Awards Gala videos provided by Penceo

Manon Perron has led an inspiring coaching career spanning more than 30 years. An NCCP certified coach, she is best known as coach of the figure skating 2010 Olympic bronze medallist, Joannie Rochette.

Manon has built a reputation for dedication and leadership development in sport. She has produced podium athletes at the national, international, and world/Olympic levels. Her role as Team Leader in PyeongChang was instrumental in securing Canada’s medals standing at the 2018 Winter Olympic Games.

Currently, she is the High Performance Advisor with Skate Canada. Manon is a role model who has supported the development and growth of athletes and coaches in the Next Gen and High Performance programs, especially during the 2014-2018 High Performance Mentorship Program. 


  • Winners of the Geoff Gowan Award

    The CAC is pleased to honour these outstanding coaches who have made significant contributions to coaching and coaching development over the years. These coaches are role models for future generations of coaches and the CAC is pleased to recognize them.

    2017 Award Recipient

    Dany Boulanger

    2016 Award Recipient

    Glenn Hoag

    2015 Award Recipient

    Dr. John Hogg

    2014 Award Recipient

    Robert (Bob) Kierstead

    2013 Award Recipient

    Dennis Marineau
    Hiroshi Nakamura

    2012 Award Recipient


    Victor Zilberman
    David Hart

    Hounorable Mentions

    Manon Perron
    Hiroshi Nakamura
    Dennis Marineau

    2011 Award Recipient

    Allison McNeill
    Eric Broom Ph. D.

    2010 Award Recipient 

    Dr. Dru Marshall: Field hockey
    Lyle Sanderson: Athletics

    2009 Award Recipient 

    Tim Frick: Wheelchair basketball
    Keith Russell: Gymnastics

    2008 Award Recipient 

    Douglas Leigh: Figure skating

    2007 Award Recipient 

    Andy Higgins: Decathlon

    2006 Award Recipient 

    Clare Drake: Hockey

    2005 Award Recipient 

    Charles Cardinal: Volleyball

    2004 Award Recipient 

    Donald Dion: Diving

    2003 Award Recipient 

    Marilyn Savage: Gymnastics

    2002 Award Recipient 

    Al Morrow: Rowing

    2000 Award Recipient 

    Doug Clement: Athletics

    1999 Award Recipient 

    Jack Donohue: Basketball

    1996 Récipiendaire du prix 1996

    Geoff Gowan: Athletics