Coaching Association of Canada

Canada`s Leaders in Sport and Coaching Recognized at Petro-Canada Sport Leadership Awards Gala

Calgary (November 8, 2013) – Canada’s top coaches and sport administrators were honoured at the Petro-Canada Sport Leadership Awards Gala, hosted by the Coaching Association of Canada (CAC), on Friday night at BMO Centre in Stampede Park.

“Every year, the Coaching Association of Canada is proud to recognize coaches and coach developers for the positive impact they have on sport in Canada,” stated Gabor Csepregi, Chair of the CAC Board of Directors. “These coaches demonstrate the values and core competencies of the National Coaching Certification Program (NCCP) and the impact that a coach’s passion, dedication and education can have on an athlete in all aspects of their life. I’m proud to congratulate all of our 2013 Award Winners.”


Geoff Gowan Award:

The Geoff Gowan Award was created by the Coaching Association of Canada in 1996 and recognizes lifetime contribution to coaching development. It is awarded to coaches who have presented a positive public image of coaching and enhanced the role of the coach with the Canadian public.

Hiroshi Nakamura – Judo (Montreal, Quebec)
Dennis Marineau – Bobsleigh (Calgary, Alberta)

National NCCP Coach Developer Award presented by Investors Group:

This award recognizes an outstanding individual who has gone above and beyond to inspire and develop NCCP coaches in their community. It is awarded to one national winner every year.

Jill Brewer – Coaching Newfoundland and Labrador, Diving

“This award was created last year to nationally recognize people exactly like Jill Brewer,” said Cyndie Flett, Vice-President Research & Development at the CAC. “As an NCCP Level 4 Diving coach and a Learning Facilitator and Evaluator in all levels of diving, Jill’s commitment to sport, development, excellence, and lifelong learning has been fundamental to her capacity to inspire and motivate coaches around her. The CAC is honoured to recognize Jill with this award.”

Richard Irish, Vice-President, Community Affairs and Marketing Support at Investors Group said: “Investors Group is committed to recognizing community leaders who inspire others to become active in their communities. We are extremely honoured to present the National NCCP Coach Developer Award to Jill Brewer for her commitment to coach development.”

Jack Donohue “Coach of the Year” Award:

This award recognizes a coach who exemplifies the great qualities that made Jack Donohue the legendary coach he was. These qualities include honesty, integrity, a positive attitude, competitiveness, a love of the sport, and that sport is about more than just wins and losses.

Joan McDonald – Archery

“Joan epitomizes the traits that Jack Donohue exemplified, and are the criteria for winning this award,” said Wayne Parro, Executive Director of Coaches of Canada. “We are very proud to have Joan as the 2013 Jack Donohue Award winner!”

Sheila Robertson Award:

The Sheila Robertson Award recognizes a deserving National Sport Organization or Multi-Sport Service Organization that demonstrates a consistent approach in valuing and recognizing the role of the coach within the organization, the media and the public.

Rowing Canada Aviron

“Coaches are often not included in decision-making off the field of play,” said Wayne Parro. “Rowing Canada Aviron has made great strides in their efforts to recognize the value of the coach to their organization and in their programming. We are very excited to recognize their efforts with the 2013 Sheila Robertson Award!”

Petro-Canada Coaching Excellence Awards:

These prestigious awards recognize coaches whose athletes have excelled at World Championships, Olympic and Paralympic Games and the Special Olympics World Games. Petro-Canada, a Suncor Energy business, has been a key supporter of Canadian coaches and the Coaching Association of Canada through its many programs since 1999.

“It is the hard work and dedication of Canadian coaches that helps in fuelling our athletes’ dreams on their way to the podium,” said Louis Côté, Director, Loyalty and Strategic Partnerships, Suncor Energy. “We are proud to celebrate your commitment, both to the athletes and to your sport. Congratulations to each of you.”

More information on these deserving winners can be found here.


For more information, please contact:

Julie Forget
Manager, Marketing and Communications
Coaching Association of Canada
613.614.8028 (c)